Live Free or Twi-Hard: A Guy’s Perspective On Women’s Perspective of the Twilight Series

C.S. Lewis's book looks strangely like "Twilight." Photo courtesy of W.K.

We’re a culture of story-tellers. We’ve been doing it for so long. Homer. Shakespeare. Fitzgerald. And with any good story comes a moral to that story. Stories teach us about ourselves–they teach us about our fears, what we value, lessons we need to learn. And stories, if they are good enough, will pass the test of time. They will be passed on from one generation to the next to teach the next generation where they come from and warn them of what they have the potential to be. Stories reveal our identities.

Like most guys, I find the female world mysterious and complicated. I think Relient K puts it best in their song, “Mood Ring.” They suggest that girls should get mood rings to warn guys of what mood they currently are in: “Mood ring oh mood ring/Oh tell me will you bring/The key to unlock this mystery/Of girls and their emotions/Play it back in slow motion/So I may understand the complex infrastructure known as the female mind.” Now okay, guys are somewhat mysterious too–we don’t like talking about our feelings. However, there are times that we are allowed to show our emotions. The BBC reveals some and Tremendous News reveals a hilarious set. Women often see our true emotion when (and this is some of my own thoughts) 1. Something happens to our genitals. 2. We lost a lot of money. 3. Someone we truly love dies. 4. Our favorite sports team loses. See, guys are simple.

If stories do reveal identities than perhaps those romance novels that women often like to read also reveals their identities. Perhaps it reveals a woman’s fantasy–what he should look like, how he should talk, what she believes a man must do to win her heart.

Books like "Twilight" and "Harry Potter" get kids to read again. Photo Credit: Children Book Blogs

Being a guy and knowing “Guy Land” because I live it and have researched it, I asked myself an age-old question better men than me have asked: what do women want? If stories do reveal identities than perhaps those romance novels that women often like to read also reveals their identities. Perhaps it reveals a woman’s fantasy–what he should look like, how he should talk, what she believes a man must do to win her heart. Enter Stephanie Meyer, author of the “Twilight” Series. Her 4 books have made the New York Bestseller list, and like J.K. Rowling’s “Harry Potter” series it inspired children and teenagers to stop playing video games or shopping for clothes and go to a bookstore and pick up a book. The “Twilight” series reveals a certain type of heroine in the main character, Isabella “Bella” Swan, but feminists believe she’s a “villain” (more on that in other posts). So why write anything about Meyer’s “Twilight” series? They aren’t important; they aren’t a special work of literary genius? I could care less about the series, but when a book like that spawns a movie (“New Moon”) that the Los Angeles Times reports as breaking two-box office records in one day, as well as create a pre-teen and teen frenzy during its premiere, or how book publishers have started to change the covers of their book to mimic “Twilight”–to say that the books can or doesn’t influence the next generation is to say that the moon doesn’t influence the ocean waves. I can still hear the screaming and crying girls. I shudder thinking about it.

After 2 hours of reading the first book, I’m on page 212. And what I’m learning so far…well, it’s terrifying.

A couple days ago, I wrote about the double standard with Taylor Lautner being “jailbait” I realized that before I could make more judgments, I should really be an informed reader. I’ve never read the books, but I was introduced to the first movie back in June by my friend, Jillian. She loves the movie, and loves the book even more.  To see her and other girls light up when Edward or Jacob walks into the room–it was interesting. So in order for me to understand what the “Twilight” books were revealing and how they could affect the next generation, I needed to know what the fuss was about–I needed to read the books myself. And the bet was made for me to read the books before the New Year. So I picked up the phone, called my friend Victoria, and borrowed her books. Oh, and if you’re reading this Victoria, I was quite secure in my masculinity to be walking around UCLA with the books in hand. Okay, I was a little embarrassed when I walked by the gym. I wanted to approach the book differently. Other reviews and other websites gave a woman’s perspective on the books. I wanted to give a guy’s perspective on the woman’s perspective of the books. Like I said earlier, we can learn a lot from the stories we tell, and the “Twilight” books aren’t an exception. I want to learn what it is that girls and women want in a man–or at least what they think they want in a man. I want to learn what they want a man to do. After 2 hours of reading the first book, I’m on page 212. And what I’m learning so far…well, it’s terrifying. So you’ll have to wait for the next post–I’ve got to continue reading.

5 Comments

Filed under Books, Life, Masculinity

5 responses to “Live Free or Twi-Hard: A Guy’s Perspective On Women’s Perspective of the Twilight Series

  1. Ash Eure

    Hey Gio,

    I saw this link on fb and thought it was interesting. (you are a great writer btw.)

    My mom had an interesting point on Twilight – that girls like Edward because he’s close (in a weird way) to the love Jesus gives us: he loves Bella unconditionally, even though she’s done nothing really to deserve it, he sees her as special/valuable, takes care of her, and is willing to sacrifice himself for her. He’s more than human, but is willing to put himself through all the trials of being human to be with her.

    As for me, I think Bella is annoying, and I’m totally on Team Jacob, haha.

    • Gio

      Thanks for the comment!
      Hmm…I don’t know about the whole Edward thing. His character and personality bugs me. Maybe it’s because I am a “nice” guy or something, but I just don’t understand why girls like this guy. He’s creepy. He breaks into your house, he watches you while you are sleeping. I don’t get it. Isn’t this stalkerish? If I was a girl, I would greatly be concerned that this obsession with me would turn deadly. He does, after all, want to eat me. Take away the vampire thing, and if this was real life, he has the personality of a deranged serial killer. I don’t know–I’ll have to think about that one and write a blog about it.

      And yes, I am on Team Jacob, not just because I am biased because he’s the nice guy and he sadly finishes last (I’ll also write a blog about that later), but also because real men don’t dazzle…in the sun.

  2. Hahahaha.

    I’m so looking forward to this next post. It will be nice to hear a guy’s perspective of these books, since all I hear from girls is, “EEEEEEPPPP!!!”

    Quite honestly, I don’t really like Edward. Maybe it’s the fact that he’s a living stone. Maybe it’s his too-perfect appearance and personality. Maybe it’s his love/hate glare that you could never really distinguish between in the movie. I read and watch Twilight for Jacob–a relatably sarcastic, sweet guy. Not to mention that he’s a werewolf, which kicks vampire butt anytime.

    Oh, and by the way, I love the Relient K reference :).

    • Gio

      Thanks, I’m barely on Chapter 12 in “New Moon.” I’m not sure if I should give my perspective until I’ve fully read all 4 books. That way, I will be fully informed. I think people shouldn’t judge until they’re fully informed–just my personal thing. But at this moment, I have beef with Bella.

  3. Pingback: The Face That Launched A Thousand Hate-Mails « Identity Revealed

Leave a Reply

